jblittlefield wrote:By expending an additional 10 Endurance (1/2 the casting cost) per round...
Again, the rules state that Abilities with rules for usage over a series of rounds (ie. Barrier, Invisibility, etc.) supercede the Arcane Magic rules.
OVA Rulebook wrote:However, some Abilities, like Barrier, can have longer effects with just one casting, and instead follow those rules.
jblittlefield wrote:Let's look at another ability: Heal.
Say I have a character with Arcane Magic +5. I want to Heal a target with the equivalent of Heal +5. This costs me 10 Endurance (for the casting) and another 10 Endurance (to Heal 10 points of damage). I face a Difficulty of 12. If I succeed, I lose 20 Endurance and heal the 10 points (this requires a full round during which I can take no other actions). If I fail, I lose 10 Endurance and heal no damage. If I am attacked and forced to abort after making a successful roll, do I lose the full 20 Endurance?
You're using heal wrong. If you were to use Heal +5, you would only need to spend 4 endurance to heal 10 points of Damage. (With Heal +5, you can heal 5 points of damage for 2 Endurance).
Your other question is good one, however. Heal is one of the oldest Abilities in the game, and looking a the text, probably deserved a good raking over. It doesn't really say if an aborted Heal costs any Endurance. For the sake of argument, I'll say Heal has a built in "Charge" flaw, which states that you lose Endurance. Thus, yes, you lose 20 Endurance in all.
Clay wrote:Actually, now that I think about it, I don't think the cost for the Ability (in this case, Invisibility) is included as part of the casting cost. The casting cost should be 10, not 20.
This isn't implicitly stated...what's everyone's opinion on this?
After looking over the rules again, I find that casting cost should include all Endurance spent. The point is rather moot, however. Most Abilities that require Endurance are either one-shot (Power Move) or have their own rules for spending additional Endurance (Invisibility), so halving the "casting cost" is never neccessary in a situation in which the actual casting cost is in contention.