Limiting Players Characters?

Discuss rule quandaries, supplements, or anything else OVA related here.

Moderators: Clay, Jade

Alexandrin
Shelled Plebeian

Limiting Players Characters?

Post by Alexandrin »

I've been running games for a few years, however I've only done it for close friends and such... Recently I was in a situation where I ran for 5 people. (It didn't go well but thats besides the point.) The people I usually run for are good at limiting their own characters, however two of the people in this gaming group were Power Players. I was using the ground Zero rule and every one pushed it as much as they could. (I admit I do this some what too, but only if it makes sense.) Now I'm really bad at telling people they can't have things in the game, for one thing I'm not used to dealing with it. I also feel guilty when I try to tell people how I think their character should be. Anyone else feel guilty when they have to do this? How do you deal with power gamers? How do you deal with running for more then 3 people?

I'm thinking about making a few house rules. No one can have emotionless 3, (people usually people don't RP this...) People can have emotionless 2 but they have to come up with a really good reason and I have to know that they can RP it. (Most people that are emotionless of 2 come out as stubborn, impulsive and pushy.) Emotionless of 1 is fine. Most people can't have life support above 1 unless they have a good reason. Peoples starting DT can't be above 4 most times. (unless they take a flaw like focus). Though the rule their DT can't be above 4 might be to limiting. :?
Eisenmann
Worthy Tortoise

Post by Eisenmann »

I know what you mean.

I usually ask people what they want their character to be like, what they want them to do. What makes their character stand out? And then I interactively work with them to make their character.