Need rules explanations/hints, newbie inside

Discuss rule quandaries, supplements, or anything else OVA related here.

Moderators: Clay, Jade

evilclone
Shelled Plebeian

Need rules explanations/hints, newbie inside

Post by evilclone »

Hi everyone, I'm new to OVA, but not to the rpg world in general. I've been playing D&D for about 7 years as a player and I'm running a BESM campaign since February as a GM.
I'm feeling like the BESM system is not what I was looking for an anime based campaign, so I've looked around... Too bad I've discovered OVA only now >_<

However for my next campaign I want to use the OVA system, but I have a few questions.
The first one regards the movement. How can I estimate how many meters per round a character can do? I know that a PC can get in melee without paying attention to movement, but what about in a situation like:
GM: You see Kotaro standing on the roof of the school, it seems he is going to engage a sword fight with Alicia.
PC: I want to reach them
GM: You start to run through the stairs of the building, you think that you'll be there in... uhm... about 15 seconds, 3 rounds in game term... maybe... don't know :P

These are the situation where movement matter.
And what about Superspeed? I can run. Run fast. Ok, but for me fast can be 30 meters per round, for someone else can be 1 kilometer per round ^_^'

The other problem: there are some rules that my players enjoy to use sometimes. I'm talking about grapple, disarm, sunder weapons.
I can say "if you want to grapple take a Power Move with entangle" and can work quite good, but what about the other 2 actions?

Ok, you can say: "Why are you so fussy about these things?"
Well, because my players are :P
I'm the one who have introduced for the first time something which is not D&D and they are rules addicted players ^_^
Last edited by evilclone on Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
The Eternal GM
Shelled Plebeian

Post by The Eternal GM »