It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:53 pm


All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:48 pm 
Shelled Plebeian

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 9
Ok, so I have a question about this ability and its permanency.
Is there a time limit?
Does it wear off when the character sleeps?
Or does the character have to actively lift the 'blessing'?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:00 am 
Exalted Amphibian
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:24 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Woonsocket, RI
I rule of thumb it lasts one fight or one scene unless specified other wise.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:28 am 
Shelled Plebeian
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:29 am
Posts: 18
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on these forums.

Anyway, to give my own answer to the question - Abilities gained through Magic, Arcane lasts for as long as the character wants them. However, any Endurance spent casting spells are not regained for as long as those spells stay in place.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:27 pm 
Dangerously Sane
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 4:32 pm
Posts: 1279
Location: Nowhere-land
It's not explicitly stated, but I would say that if a character is ever not conscious (either knocked out or asleep) all spells are released. But that's ultimately up to you and the other Players!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:16 pm 
Shelled Plebeian

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 9
Here's a new question.
Assuming the Arcane user has an innate knowledge of abilities, do they impart this knowledge when granting an ability to someone else?

Like say casting a Flight Spell on them, would they automatically be able to control it or whatever?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 6:29 pm 
Exalted Amphibian
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:24 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Woonsocket, RI
Well yes, gaining flight then crashing into a wall because you don't know about it would be silly.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:36 pm 
Worthy Tortoise
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:11 pm
Posts: 64
sniffycrab wrote:
Well yes, gaining flight then crashing into a wall because you don't know about it would be silly.


Though it would also be funny, if that's the sort of game you're going for...


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:00 pm 
Shelled Plebeian
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:29 am
Posts: 18
Say, I actually have a question regarding the Endurance costs of Magic spells. Is it kosher to lower the base cost of casting a spell using Flaws?

For example, a character has Magic: Arcane 3 and wants to grant themselves a +2 ability, which would cost 10 Endurance before perks and flaws are considered. Can the spell have a Flaw to make the cost 5, or even 0?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:57 pm 
Exalted Amphibian
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:24 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Woonsocket, RI
Lord Specineff13 wrote:
Say, I actually have a question regarding the Endurance costs of Magic spells. Is it kosher to lower the base cost of casting a spell using Flaws?

For example, a character has Magic: Arcane 3 and wants to grant themselves a +2 ability, which would cost 10 Endurance before perks and flaws are considered. Can the spell have a Flaw to make the cost 5, or even 0?

I say NO! Magic: Arcane is very powerful and is only balanced by the high endurance cost required to use it. As written you could use Magic: Arcane to get any other ability you need on demand, so it is a tool box that could be thrown at nearly any problem.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 4:44 pm 
Shelled Plebeian

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:22 pm
Posts: 9
sniffycrab wrote:
I say NO! Magic: Arcane is very powerful and is only balanced by the high endurance cost required to use it. As written you could use Magic: Arcane to get any other ability you need on demand, so it is a tool box that could be thrown at nearly any problem.


That is kinda how I saw Arcane as bring used as well. Especially in combat situations when you need a leg up for defense or attack, at the expense of endurance you could also use for special moves.

Lord Specineff13 wrote:
Say, I actually have a question regarding the Endurance costs of Magic spells. Is it kosher to lower the base cost of casting a spell using Flaws?

For example, a character has Magic: Arcane 3 and wants to grant themselves a +2 ability, which would cost 10 Endurance before perks and flaws are considered. Can the spell have a Flaw to make the cost 5, or even 0?


And while the endurance cost here is not free (or all that inexpensive), just remember that at Magic: Arcane 3, or any level actually, you can cast abilities equal or lest than your level in Arcane with out rolling. So, unless you are level 5, I don't really think it needs to be free. (Even still at level 5 only level 1 abilities are free)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:54 pm 
Shelled Plebeian
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:29 am
Posts: 18
Thanks, I was leaning that way myself. Seemed a bit fishy to use a negative balance of perks and flaws to lower the base casting cost of a magic spell.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Magic: Arcane
PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 3:50 pm 
Dangerously Sane
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 4:32 pm
Posts: 1279
Location: Nowhere-land
Using Flaws to cheapen spells isn’t automatically a no-no...the main problem here is many Flaws are sort of a non-issue for certain spells. Using Self-Only on all your spells is technically legal, but it’s sort of against the spirit of fair play.

Basically, if a Flaw doesn’t actually limit a character’s options much, I would discourage its use as a spell-cheapener. On the other hand, having a Requirement like “Must have a source of water” for a water spell seems perfectly fair.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Moderators: Clay, Jade

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net