Question Regarding Magic, Arcane

Discuss rule quandaries, supplements, or anything else OVA related here.

Moderators: Clay, Jade

DMDaniel
Shelled Plebeian

Question Regarding Magic, Arcane

Post by DMDaniel »

Hey all! First time poster here, but my friends said the boards were very friendly and often frequented from the bigwigs in the system themselves. A brief history: I am a writer, and naturally am the GM for my player's group. We have done a lot of different systems (started in Old White Wolf, did Pathfinder, the new Star Wars, etc), and our most recent game was an alternate version of Shadowrun set in Japan. Being a long time anime fan I decided to try and give Shadowrun a more anime feel. At any rate, the latest edition of Shadowrun is just mind bogglingly terrible. It plays like three separate games and probably has the worst edited rule book I've ever had the misfortune to use. So I was GOING to houserule the poo out of it, and started proposing changes, and one of my players said "So...basically you just made OVA". I looked, and sure enough, I had! So now we're converting characters to OVA and having loads of fun. We just had our first session last night, and I had a possible problem I'm hoping to get clarified.

Most broadly, there doesn't seem to be any suggested limitation on the number of unique "attacks" a player can generate, so long as they use the perks and flaws etc. But the actual number of them seems limitless. Also, in creating new attacks, as they level up, are they simply permitted to just make new attacks at will? (Obviously coming from a restrictive structured system like Shadowrun, the players are a little bit like kids in a candy store with abilities). Is this something the rules expect each GM to limit with a house rule? Or am I missing something there?