MSGS: Chain-Linked Destinies Design Critique

Discuss rule quandaries, supplements, or anything else OVA related here.

Moderators: Clay, Jade

Sabersonic
Exalted Amphibian

MSGS: Chain-Linked Destinies Design Critique

Post by Sabersonic »

Greetings fellow Wise Turtle forum members, it's been a while since I ever posted, well, anything on here and especially in relation to OVA 2e (which, I got the Kickstarter PDF) and I figured that to exercise and increase my understanding of the character creation process of at least abilities then I should try to convert my BESM 3e designs for my "still in preproduction phase" into OVA 2e and then show what I got to the world or at least the forum what I got and see if there's any corrections or suggestions on them to refine my understanding.

Though, before I begin, I'd like to note that I have a particular combat system in mind when I designed these weapons and giant robots. One being that certain actions of the mecha cost energy, in this game engine being Endurance, to represent waste thermal energy that has been mentioned in the side materials of Gundam but rarely (if ever) mentioned in animation. The other being that, like contemporary armored vehicles, mobile suits, mobile armor, and spacecraft focus their armor densities towards the front of the vehicle with little armor towards the sides and barely any, if at all, towards the rear. This, in theory, encourages players into tactical maneuvering and thinking to get to the more vulnerable rear for the killing blow while being mindful of the amount of energy left that could be utilized to give a sense of urgency, drama, and suspense.

That and the amount of ammo one could carry upon a giant robot being finite, but I think that's a given personally.